Taking a Break, Writing a Book

by Jed Pressgrove

I will soon be taking a break from Game Bias. Since the start of Game Bias in February, I have tried to keep it regularly updated. From this point forward, I will not be as concerned with updating. I have a few posts planned for the remainder of this year, including an article about the best games of 2014. After this year, I will continue to use Game Bias here and there. But my focus has shifted away from writing for this blog and toward getting published elsewhere, such as Paste and Slant.

Please note that if you would like to write a guest post for Game Bias, I am still committed to editing work to fit this blog and promoting your work. Despite its youth (it’s not even a year old), Game Bias has been Freshly Pressed by WordPress and has been featured on Critical Distance, Gamasutra, The Escapist, Kill Screen, and Rock, Paper, Shotgun. Game Bias is a good place to let your voice be heard and to get editorial input.

I am also working on a book (I will share the title at the appropriate time). As a collection of reviews, this book will critique and interpret some of the most celebrated independent games of the last few years as well as other independent games that haven’t received as much attention. Some reviews will be updated versions of reviews I did for Fate of the Game, a site that no longer exists. Many of the reviews will be completely new and cover games I haven’t played at the writing of this post. Games that will be reviewed will include Super Meat Boy, Fez, Braid, Gone Home, Papers, Please, The Stanley Parable, Flower, and more.

If you have any questions about this book or any suggested games that should be reviewed in this book, please let me know via the comments section below, Twitter (@jedpressfate), or email (pressgrove84@yahoo.com). Feel free to contact for any other reason as well.

Finally, I would like to thank Cyril Lachel, Amanda Wallace, Patrick Lindsey, Joe Köller, Garrett Martin, and Ed Gonzalez for editing my work and encouraging me to grow as a writer. Special thanks to Anthony Murray, Paul Schumann, Greg Magee, Jim Bevan, Sidney Fussell, and Mary Lew Florida for contributing to Game Bias and making it better. I thank Indie Gamer Chick for her frankness and encouragement, Cameron Kunzelman for his consideration, and Richard Goodness for showing me the way. Last but not least, I thank everyone who has read, shared, enjoyed, and challenged my thoughts and reactions to games and game media. The book is for all of you and everyone else.

2 comments

  1. As bummed as I am that Game Bias won’t be updated as frequently in the future, I’m really looking forward to reading your book. Even when I disagree with you, your insight is fantastic. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

